Ghost
No VPN found

How To Delete or Deactivate Your Snapchat Account

How To Delete or Deactivate Your Snapchat Account
date
Mar 7, 2022
slug
how-to-delete-your-snapchat-account
status
Published
summary
Snapchat has 293 million users worldwide, making it one of the most popular social networks in the world. As you might imagine, this social platform comes with many security risks.
tags
Website
type
Post
Author
Berktug Mutlu
category
Personal Information
meta_title
How To Delete or Deactivate Your Snapchat Account - FastVPN
Snapchat has 293 million users worldwide, making it one of the most popular social networks in the world. As you might imagine, this social platform comes with many security risks.
Whether you want to delete your account because you don’t use it or hate what it turned into, it is your right to determine when you want to end your usage. Below, I will provide some compelling reasons why you should delete your Snapchat account. I will also go through how you can do it.

Why Deactivate or Delete a Snapchat Account?

Snapchat had a big leak fiasco a few years ago due to third-party app integrations. The leak involved underground photo-trading chat rooms. This data has been collected for years, with a 13GB library of images many users thought were deleted.
4Chan users sorted the images by username, enabling people to look through these stolen images. The event is commonly referred to as The Snappening.
Snapchat states their servers were never officially breached. However, it is a grim reminder that anyone can compromise your internet privacy. Many of those images likely still exist on the darknet.
Regardless, Snapchat has a prolific history of leaks. Here are some examples:
  • In 2019, Snapchat employees abused access privileges by spying on user accounts.
  • Phishing attacks revealed 50 thousand users with compromised data (2017)
  • Current employees had their data exposed in 2016 after a payroll scam
Admittedly, phishing attacks are on the user over the site. But being on the site is what turns you into a target.
Because of this and public exposure from social media, I recommend you don’t have Snapchat. For deletion steps, keep reading.

How to Permanently Delete Snapchat

notion image
The image is available during step two of the account deletion process (seen below). Here are some steps you can follow to delete your Snapchat account permanently:
  1. Access your account portal and log in using the mobile or desktop website (not the app)
  1. Scroll down and click on the “Delete My Account” button
  1. Re-enter your username and password
After 30 days, Snapchat will remove your account from their database. To delete your app from the mobile app, follow this pathway:
  1. Settings (the cog in the upper-right-hand corner)
  1. I Need Help
  1. Account Information
  1. Delete My Account
  1. Follow the steps above
Snapchat does not allow you to delete your account by staying within the app. You will need to do so from your browser (i.e., Firefox, Chrome, etc.).
Like all social media sites, Snapchat does not have a number to request the removal of all data from the site. Snapchat doesn’t have an email, as they only communicate with current users.

What Happens if You Delete Your Snapchat Account?

When you request deletion of your Snapchat account, your profile goes down. Snapchat gives you a 30-day-period for you to change your mind on deletion.
You should avoid logging in during this period, as you will need to restart your Snapchat deletion process. Each new request resets your 30-day timer, so resist temptation.
After your 30 days are up, the account is permanently gone. This vanishing means the permanent removal of the following items:
  • Snaps
  • Chats
  • Story
  • Device data
  • Location data
Unfortunately, Snapchat will retain basic personal information. Snapchat says they do this for legal reasons.
The only known way to contact them without having an account is Twitter. Like most large social companies, overturning their policy will be a challenge.

Can you Temporarily Disable your Snapchat?

Currently, there is no way to remove your profile from Snapchat temporarily.
The only way to “temporarily” disable your Snapchat is by requesting deletion. Even then, your Snapchat will only be “disabled” for 30 days. You will also have to stop the deletion before the 30 days is up.
Before you decide to delete your account, you might want to retrieve your data.

Can I Reactivate my Snapchat Account?

After the 30-day deletion process is complete, there is no way to reactivate your Snapchat account. You can only log into your account before the 30-day period elapses, stopping the deletion. You will have to create an entirely new Snapchat account if you wish to use the platform again.

How To Download Your Data from Snapchat

notion image
Before deleting your account, it is an excellent policy to retrieve all data you left behind. This ch ice provides you with a personal record of what you left behind on Snapchat.
To download your data, go to the “Download My Data” page, scroll to the bottom, and click the “Submit Request” Button:
notion image
You will know your data is ready when a zip file is available on this page:
notion image
Having your Snapchat data provides the following benefits:
  • If you are a victim of a leak, you can have a record of the lost data for legal purposes
  • It allows you to have an itinerary of exposed personal information for general purposes
  • You can go down memory lane without leaving behind exposed data.

What Data Does Snapchat Provide You?

Under the “Data Available for Download” section, Snapchat lists what it provides you. Here is a comprehensive list:
  • Login History and Account Information (basic identifiers, device info, and history, login history, when your account was active/inactive)
  • Snap history (received and sent)
  • Chat history (received and sent)
  • Our Story Submissions
  • Spotlight Content
  • Purchase History (In-App and On-Demand)
  • Shop History (what you viewed)
  • Snapchat Support History
  • User Profile Data (App profile, engagement, demographics, channels viewed, time breakdown, ads you viewed, interest categories, web and app interactions)
  • Public Profile Information
  • Friends (List, requests, blocked users, deleted, hidden friend suggestions, ignored snapchatters)
  • Ranking Info
  • Story History (Public and friend views)
  • Account History (Name/email/mobile number/password changes, two-factor authentication data, Bitmoji info)
  • Location Data (frequent/latest locations, business, and public places, locations over two years)
  • Search/Terms history
  • Subscription
  • Bitmoji Data (Basic info, analytics, TOS acceptance, Keyboard enable history)
  • In-app services used
  • reported content
  • Connected apps
  • Talk history
  • Ads manager data (for businesses)
  • Snap games and minis
  • Lenses used
  • Memories
  • Cameos (appearances in other user’s)
  • Email campaign history
  • Tokens
  • Scans
  • Orders
  • Snap map places
Password changes and history are not provided in detail, only when the changes took place. If you’re more interested in current info, you can look through your app.
Once you have your data, you should remove the app from your device.

Delete Snapchat from Any Device

Snapchat is available across Android (Google’s Smartphone OS) and iOS (Apple’s OS). Here’s how you clear all of your data regarding Snapchat:

Android Devices (Smartphones and Tablets)

Before removing the app from your device, you will want to clear your cache. The cache contains old account data and other personal identifiers. Without removing the files, you might have folders or information left behind.
To clear your App cache while deleting the app, follow these steps:
  1. Go to your phone settings
  1. Scroll until you see storage
  1. Under storage, select “other apps.”
This website uses cookies to improve the user experience. To learn more about our cookie policy or withdraw from it, please check our Privacy Policy.